Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Buckeye Youth Council takes second place in DemocraSeed competition

Post Date:04/16/2018 11:54 am

Congratulations to the Buckeye Youth Council for their second place award in the DemocraSeed Final Showcase with their social media campaign for teacher appreciation - #ilovemyteacherchallenge and specifically #ilovemybuckeyeteacher.

The Youth Council chose this topic since they felt teacher pay and retention is one of the biggest challenges facing not only Buckeye, but the state overall.Buckeye Youth Council in front of state capitol building

The campaign challenges the community to do something nice for a teacher, such as writing them a nice note or presenting them with a small appreciation gift. Then post a photo or video of their teacher to social media using the hashtags created for the campaign. 

DemocraSeed is a program through Arizona State University’s Entrepreneurship and Innovation team that seeks to increase interest in civic engagement, creative problem-solving and entrepreneurship with high school students. 

ASU assigned the Council a mentor who worked with them over the past few months. Together, they focused on utilizing design thinking and an entrepreneurial mindset to develop innovative programs that aim to increase civic engagement in their respective communities across Arizona.

The Buckeye Youth Council received their award on April 4 at a luncheon while at the State Capitol. The students also met with various state representatives to discuss a few of the challenges facing our state. 

Teacher Appreciation Week is May 7 – 11 and the Buckeye Youth Council is encouraging all students to participate in the social media campaign.

To learn more about the Buckeye Youth Council, please visit 


Pictured in Photo - left to right
Left of Bell (left to right): Madison Neanover (ASU Mentor), Pricilla Reyes, Aaron Maxwell, Elijah Rusk
Right of Bell (left to right): Faithlyn Sullenger, Ammon Maxwell, Peter van den Akker, Su Bin Chang


Return to full list >>